Top 5 Food License You Must Have to Start Food Industry

5 Food License

The food business in India is one of the most trending and highly competitive businesses right now. People can now order food from the comfort of their homes and get it delivered to their doorstep. The tremendous growth in the food industry has also brought up new issues in food safety and hygiene. Keeping in mind the public health interest and ensuring food safety, the Food Safety and Standards Authority of India (FSSAI) have regulated the Food Safety and Standards (Licensing and Registration of Food Business).

To start a food business in India and carry out food services or sell food products, it is mandatory to obtain certain licenses. Not complying with such requirements may land up the business with legal problems. In this article, let’s discuss the top 5 license one needs to start a food business or industry in India


The term AGMARK stands for Agricultural Marking. It is an exclusive trademark of the Indian government. It covers quality regulations for a variety of Agricultural and allied commodities like pulses, oils, fruits, vegetables, and more. Such commodities are categorized based on their quality with reference to various factors such as size, type, weight, color, and more. There are different grades for a special, good, fair, and ordinary food product. Such grades are called “AGMARK Grading”.

2. BIS

Bureau of Indian Standards is a national Standards body of India, that formulates Indian Standards for various articles, processes, test methods, codes of practices, and more. BIS helps in promoting standardization and quality control in industries. The food manufacturers need to apply to BIS and get their permission to use the ISI mark on their products. The BIS inspects the factory, tests the products, verifies the quality of the products, and other facilities before giving permission to use an ISI mark. They also ensure that the food manufacturers use a well-defined quality control system and employ control measures at each stage of production.


Hazard Analysis and Critical Control Points is a risk-based approach that helps in preventing the contamination of food in any form during production, packaging, and distribution. The HACCP takes measures to identify the potential food safety problems before they arise, rather than inspect food products for hazards after the fact. The HACCP concept demands strict adherence to hygiene practices throughout the production process.

4. ISO 22000

The International Organization for Standardization is a Food Safety Management System that can be used by any organization in the food chain irrespective of its size or position. It outlines what a food manufacturer requires to prove its potentiality to control food safety risks in order to ensure that food is safe. The ISO 22000 certification ensures that a proper food safety management system in place and bestows customer confidence in the product.

5. GHP

Good Hygiene Practices (GHP) ensures that there is established hygiene management in the food industry and is connected to the entire food processing chain.  It checks for Food handling practices, Employee hygiene practices, Sanitation facilities, Pest control, and, Prevention of physical and chemical hazards in order to reduce food contamination and food-borne diseases.

Today’s generation is more concerned about food safety standards. So, it is always beneficial to have a food license that guarantees the quality of the food. There are still a lot more licenses that a food industry might require. Get the required license and make your business stand ahead of your competitors.

You can find the best food license consultants on our platform.

 19,651 total views,  363 views today

Talk to Our Expert

Recent Posts

Across India : Delhi | Pune | Mumbai | Chennai | Ahmedabad | Hyderabad | Kolkata, and 30+ major cities across India

Copyright © 2023 SolBuggy. All Rights Reserved

  1. Sitemap |
  2. Terms & Conditions |
  3. Privacy Policy
Consult NowCall UsWhatsApp(24/7)